Notepad
The notepad is empty.

The Familiars

The Sunday Times Bestseller and Richard & Judy Book Club Pick
Ranking1020inBelletristik
PaperbackPaperback
448 pages
English
Available formats
BookHardcover
CHF23.80
BookPaperback
CHF23.80
BookHardcover
CHF38.80
BookPaperback
CHF24.80
BookHardcover
CHF43.80
PaperbackPaperback
CHF15.90
Other Non-BooksNon-Book
CHF63.00
CHF15.90
Ready for dispatch within 1-2 working days
Ready to pick up
Stock in the store
Quantity

Product

Cover TextTo save her child, she will trust a stranger. To protect a secret, she must risk her life . . .
Fleetwood Shuttleworth is 17 years old, married, and pregnant for the fourth time. But as the mistress at Gawthorpe Hall, she still has no living child, and her husband Richard is anxious for an heir. When Fleetwood finds a letter she isn't supposed to read from the doctor who delivered her third stillbirth, she is dealt the crushing blow that she will not survive another pregnancy.
Then she crosses paths by chance with Alice Gray, a young midwife. Alice promises to help her give birth to a healthy baby, and to prove the physician wrong.
As Alice is drawn into the witchcraft accusations that are sweeping the North-West, Fleetwood risks everything by trying to help her. But is there more to Alice than meets the eye?
Soon the two women's lives will become inextricably bound together as the legendary trial at Lancaster approaches, and Fleetwood's stomach continues to grow. Time is running out, and both their lives are at stake.
Only they know the truth. Only they can save each other.
'Assured and alluring, this beautiful tale of women and witchcraft and the fight against power was a delight from start to finish' Jessie Burton, author of THE MINIATURIST
'The new Hilary Mantel' Cosmopolitan
'Truly spellbinding' Good Housekeeping
Details
ISBN/GTIN978-1-78576-614-5
Product TypePaperback
BindingPaperback
Publishing year2019
Publishing date15/09/2019
Pages448 pages
LanguageEnglish
SizeWidth 128 mm, Height 198 mm, Thickness 34 mm
Weight386 g
Article no.38922214
Rubrics

Content/Review

PrefacePerfect for fans of Jessie Burton and Sarah Perry, The Familiars is the most spellbinding debut novel of 2019.
CritiqueThe Familiars is an intricate and sensitive portrayal of a brave, tenacious young girl carving her place in the world. A must-read novel Heather Morris, bestselling author of The Tattooist of Auschwitz

Author

Halls, Stacey
Stacey Halls grew up in Rossendale, Lancashire, as the daughter of market traders. She has always been fascinated by the Pendle witches. She studied journalism at the University of Central Lancashire and moved to London aged 21. She was media editor at the Bookseller and books editor at Stylist.co.uk , and has also written for Psychologies , the Independent and Fabulous magazine, where she now works as Deputy Chief Sub Editor. The Familiars is her first novel.